I should have posted this sooner, but I did not have time. I hope it’s not too late for someone who did not know about this already to participate.

And what are you doing tonight from 8:30 till 9:30 pm? I plan to be home in the dark. (But that does not mean I will be sitting around, bored, with nothing to do!)
Each year, individuals, governments and businesses around the globe are encouraged to switch off their lights for one hour – Earth Hour.


Earth Hour is an Australian initiative that began in Sydney in 2007 to help combat climate change. In 2008, Earth Hour involved between 50 and 100 million people in 370 cities and towns around the world, including Chicago, Toronto, Copenhagen, Dublin, Atlanta and Bangkok. Earth Hour 2009 takes place on Saturday 28 March. By turning off our lights, we can send a message to the world’s leaders that strong action needs to be taken to combat climate change.

For more information go to: http://www.earthhour.org.

One more thing. I am not the type of person to participate in something like this just today, and not every day. If I were not already doing most everything I can to conserve resources, I would not do this unless I planned to start now to make this a daily part of my life. It is not that difficult to turn off the lights once in a while, or even reduce their use every day. (Granted a little tougher with kids in the family who just do not learn to always turn off lights, but they can be trained to do better,  and we can get more exercise going here and there to turn them off after they have left them on.)  If conservation is not your way of life, try to think of some things you can do to head in that direction. If it is your way of life, maybe there is one more thing we can do.  I am just not into one-day changes about anything.
