I grew up near Silver Dollar City, an “1880’s Craft Village.” We went there ALL the time when I was a kid. There were barely any rides then; it was more of a place to walk around and look at things. I specifically remember the glass-blowing, candy-making, soap-making and blacksmith shop as a child. My favorite thing was the candle store where there were two small white taper candles attached by a long wick, and we could dip them in different colors of wax to make our own candles. I am sure I never burned one single candle, but we absolutely could  not leave the place without “making candles.”

the Tea Cups. They were beautiful, but I would not even dream of going on these.

the Tea Cups. They were beautiful, but I would not even dream of going on these.

On my recent trip to Missouri, we took an impromptu trip to Silver Dollar City. I had not been there since I moved to New Mexico, and it has changed much in six years. There are more rides (they were building up the rides before I left) and an entire area devoted to children’s rides (most of which would make me sick). They still have all the crafting, but I was visiting with 5- and 7-year-old girls, so we mostly did the rides. (It was cheaper for me that way anyway; I was not tempted by the wonderful things in the shops!)

This was a big "V" shaped track--with a rounded bottom--that had a big spinning saucer on it. It made me sick to look at it, but Chic LOVED it.

This was a big "V" shaped track--with a rounded bottom--that had a big spinning saucer on it. It made me sick to look at it, but Chic LOVED it.

These are all pictures of rides that did/would make me sick. I got a little sick right after lunch on a roller coaster that went in circles rather than going up and down hills. (Spinning makes me sick.) My youngest was NOT enthused with the rides, though she bravely endured many before saying she would  not do anymore. So she and I sat out while my oldest and my sister-in-law went on the rides in the kids’ section, almost all of which had some sort of spinning motion.

After more than an hour of watching her sister and aunt go on rides while she sat with me, Chicklet decided she could go on the big galleon swing. Those rides have never made me sick, so I went with her. She only BARELY made the height requirement, but we did it.

2009-06-02.Galleon

Chicklet watching and deciding she might be able to handle this ride.

She hated it. I got REALLY sick. I rarely throw up (I would probably feel better if I did), but I was so sick immediately when I got off I walked quickly to a snow cone stand to get something wet and cold. (It was extremely hot and humid that day.) I was sick the rest of the day and somewhat sick the next. Must be age.

This is the biggest snow cone I have ever seen!

This is the biggest snow cone I have ever seen!

Before we left, I had to stop at the candle shop. The girls were as enchanted with making candles as I had been. It was worth the whole experience (even with being sick) just to see  how much they loved this. Next time we’ll take in more of the crafting.

Chicket dipping candles in colored wax. (There were no butterflies when I was a little girl!)

Chicket dipping candles in colored wax. (There were no butterflies when I was a little girl!)

My World is a weekly meme in which participants are virtual tour guides. Go check it out and see the worlds of others. Or better yet, take a look at the guidelines, and do your own My World Post!

