click on photo to enlarge

click on photo to enlarge

Yesterday morning I was catching up on my Google Reader when I looked up, and outside.  It was one of those fiery sunrises.  I jumbed up, grabbed my camera and raced to the back yard for pictures.  (The second picture is from the back yard.)  While back there, I could see the color wrapped around from East to West, so I ran to the front to get more pictures.  The wrong lens was on the camera, so Prince Charming assisted for a quick change, just in time to capture the above shot. 

click on photo to enlarge

click on photo to enlarge

Some of my previous sky posts have received comments that the picture looks like something from a science fiction movie.  I agree.  I like science fiction and see that in the sky often myself.  But this one…  well, I think this one (the first picture) might win the science fiction prize of all my sky photos.  It actually reminds me of some of the the bad special effects from the original Star Trek series.

The last picture was as the color faded into morning.  As is often the way with sunrises and sunsets, it happened quickly.

click on photo to enlarge

click on photo to enlarge

To see LOTS more terrific sky pictures,  head to the SkyWatch blog hosted by Tom, Sandy , Imac and Klaus.  You will not be sorry you did!

by Louise Cannon

