I LOVE sundogs! I don’t know why I do, but I do. Maybe it is because they are somewhat rare. I think I saw the second one in my life when I was in my early  20’s.  However, since moving to New Mexico, I usually see them 5 or 6 times a year.  And this week I have seen sundogs TWICE. TWICE IN ONE WEEK! Both times they were spots 180 degrees from each other, and both times so bright it was difficult to look at them (as well as photograph).

click photo to enlarge (thanks, Leora!!)

click photo to enlarge (thanks, Leora!!)

So here is one of them this week. I was torn between this and the spectacular sunrise we had this morning, but since sundogs are rarer, I picked this.

To see LOTS more terrific sky pictures or to find out how to participate in this meme, head to the SkyWatch blog.

