This week I am taking a break from Orlando, but I will go back for at least one more week in the future.

2009-01-28_16-35-09sign

2009-01-28_16-17-27dome1

A couple of weeks ago my daughter’s 1st and 2nd grade class went on a field trip to Explora!, the children’s museum in town.

2009-01-28_14-24-31ballsinmotion

This is the only children’s museum I have visited (though my girls have gone to ones in other cities in the summer when we travel), so I do not have much to which to compare it, but from what I can see, it is a pretty good museum.

There are buttons available all around this for children to control what is happening with the water.

There are buttons available all around this for children to control what is happening with the water.

There are lots of exhibits on different topics like water, electricity, etc. There are areas specifically designed for certain age groups, even babies. It is clean, and the staff is extremely friendly and patient (more so than I would be if dealing with unruly kids all day every day), and it is just downright fun.

I wonder if being a science teacher is more fun than being an art teacher.

I wonder if being a science teacher is more fun than being an art teacher.

Since it was a field trip, our agenda was a bit different than just an ordinary visit, but it was really a lot of fun. We spent an hour in a class (about magnets–a whole hour of experimenting with magnets!) and an hour in the rest of the museum. An hour is not really long enough to cover the rest of the museum (But it is long enough for Chicklet to disappear for 15 minutes. I never even found her; someone else did.), but we still had a nice time.

The kids could not believe they could make the magnets do this themselves.

The kids could not believe they could make the magnets do this themselves.

I had 4 kids in my car, including my own 2. They were amazingly well-behaved and did not get on my nerves at all. (Except for disappearing Chicklet.)

I had 4 kids in my car, including my own 2.

My World is a weekly meme in which participants are virtual tour guides. Go check it out and see the worlds of others. Or better yet, take a look at the guidelines, and do your own My World Post!

