Back to Orlando today.

2009-01-08turretmoon

The place I stayed for my January visit to Orlando was the Doubletree Castle Hotel. I stayed here because it was supposedly close to the Convention Center where my Conference was. (“Close” is apparently a relative term. It was close enough for running shoes. Not close enough for street shoes. Thankfully they have a semi-reliable trolley system there.) The other reason for staying here is that as usual, Prince Charming was in charge of setting this up, and this is the best deal he could find. (It WAS a good deal!)

When I arrived, I thought it was a bit cheesy from the outside.  Coral paint and turrets.  But it turned out to be a nice place with the second-most-comfortable-hotel-bed-which-I-have-experienced. (I have never stayed in a Westin with a “heavenly bed.”)  Probably the best part was the warm chocolate chip cookie given to me upon checking in (which is apparently a Doubletree signature). Most pictures can be enlarged when clicked.

the pool

the pool

close-up of pool fountain

close-up of pool fountain

The grounds were pretty. (But what wasn’t? It was January in  FLORIDA!) The room service was inconvenient, but had WONDERFUL food. (Next to the bed, this is the most important thing to me.)

2009-01-08gazebo1

This place was created for a book and me

It was definitely very “castle-like” inside. My Princesses would have loved it. (But I loved being there by myself!)

2009-01-09stainedglass2009-01-08chandelier

My World is a weekly meme in which participants are virtual tour guides. Go check it out and see the worlds of others. Or better yet, take a look at the guidelines, and do your own My World Post!

