When I posted a rainbow last year for SkyWatch Friday, I said that I did not think I would ever post one because I just cannot photograph what I see. But when I did it, it was a good photograph, even if it was not as spectacular as being there.

200903-19swf2009-03-09rainbow

Today’s is not quite such an excellent one, but I loved how the rainbow showed up in blue sky. I was driving home in the rain (rare for our desert this time of year, but we had it twice in one week–and it was COLD!), and I saw it. A full rainbow over the city and mountain. Spectacular. But I wasn’t in a place to get  a good picture. I took a few on the fly, but hoped it would last.

It faded, but these pictures are after I got on top of the mesa and could stop for a good view.

click photo to enlarge

click photo to enlarge

To see LOTS more terrific sky pictures or to find out how to participate in this meme, head to the SkyWatch blog.

