The different aspects of the comments of my last post was interesting to me. The comments about the snake surprised me as it was only a small part of the experience. But I liked it, because snakes fascinate me.

No, I do not want to own one and let it slither all over my house. Truth be told, I do not even like to hold them very much. I have a huge irrational phobia of worms, and poor snakes make me nervous because of their worm-like shape–not because they are snakes. I would actually hold a thousand snakes before I would hold a harmless worm, but I prefer to hold neither. (I understand the irrationality of this, but we all have to have some weird quirks.)

So I thought you might like to see the best close-up I have of the snake from the last post.

click photo to enlarge

click photo to enlarge

Celeste from Celestial Ramblings thinks it is a Bull Snake.  (It did not hiss, Celeste.)  Now I trust Celeste’s identification completely. She knows her animals; that is her job. But I grew up in Missouri where every brown harmless snake of size is a bull snake and every black one is a black snake. I think I need some reptile education! Or maybe there are lots of types of bull snakes. But probably where I grew up, all brown snakes were called that no matter what they were. (This is not to say no one in Missouri could distinguish between snakes, but let’s be honest. The general population is not that interested in snakes.)

This reminded me of another time I got some good pictures of a snake.

It was Labor Day weekend three years ago. We were hiking at the local extinct volcanoes. Chic was almost five, and Chicklet was almost 2-1/2. This meant Chicklet was riding on Prince Charming’s shoulders. We also had the dog with us, who thankfully seems to have a natural inclination to avoid danger. (I just read about snake training at Damp Dog’s Blog.)

That year there had been a lot of rain beginning in mid-July. By Labor Day, our world was very green (in a desert-y sort of way).  The dirt trail was washed out in several places. We had to be very careful to not fall into crevices in the trail.

Prince Charming was in the lead, then Chic, then me. Suddenly Prince Charming stepped quickly away from the solid trail and fell, breaking through the washed-out part, leaving a giant hole in the trail.

click photo to enlarge

click photo to enlarge

Our Storm Cloud, Chicklet was safe, but screaming. This made Chic cry. This made me irritated. I asked why he had not been paying attention or whatever to do that because we had one hysterical and one unhappy girl on our hands now.

He pointed. There, next to the trail, with his footprint only a couple of inches from it, was a rattlesnake.

Can you see the footprint just below the snake on the left of the photo? (click photo to enlarge)

Can you see the footprint just below the snake on the left of the photo? (click photo to enlarge)

He nearly stepped on its tail, which caused it to coil for strike. All hysteria was forgotten by me since I had a new camera. I started getting closer and closer to take pictures. I am not a complete idiot; I made sure I was never close enough that it could reach me if it decided to jump and strike.  But I really did have a good time getting pictures with my worried husband and crying children in the background.

In the end, the snake was tired of us and left. I ran ahead trying to get a better shot, but it was only interested in leaving, as are most snakes I have encountered in my life.

click photo to enlarge

click photo to enlarge

