One evening at Bryce Canyon National Park we hiked to Mossy Cave. This part of the park is not accessed the same way as the rest, and you could go there without paying, I think. (But come on, the whole place is incredible, and you need to pay to see the rest of it.)

The trail to Mossy Cave. (Click photo to enlarge.)

The trail to Mossy Cave. (Click photo to enlarge.)

The relatively short hike (seemed like 1/2 – 3/4 mile each direction?) took us to Mossy Cave and also a waterfall. I am a save-the-best-for-last-type-of-girl, so we went to the cave first.

I said in a previous post that I would not post a picture of the cave; I did not think I took one because it was not terribly photogenic. (OK, I took a couple, but they were close-ups of something specific that I’ll show you later.) But when finding pictures for this post, I found one.

Mossy Cave--granted, a bit boring. (click photo to enlarge)

Mossy Cave--granted, a bit boring. (click photo to enlarge)

It was a shelf-type cave with an overhang. (I am sure there are more proper technical terms for this that I am entirely too lazy to research.) It was a bit disappointing that we just walked to where it started and had to stop; no one was allowed inside (or under, as it really was).  But truthfully, that is NOT the reason to take this hike. The waterfall is.  (And the hoodoo arches with the incredible sky as seen here.)

The waterfall near Mossy Cave (click photo to enlarge--notice people below it.)

The waterfall near Mossy Cave (click photo to enlarge--notice people below it.)

The waterfall is just a short distance from the cave. A very shallow creek runs through this area and creates the waterfall.

click photo to enlarge

click photo to enlarge

My girls were in heaven. (But someone please remind me to take water socks on trips whether or not we think there will be water. There is always water SOMEWHERE!)

I loved the light on the creek. (My girls just liked the creek.)

I loved the light on the creek. (My girls just liked the creek.)

We knew there would be a waterfall on the hike, but we did not know how absolutely wonderful it would be. When we got there, people were playing in the shallow water below it. Not having proper footwear and having young girls, we did not let them play in the falls, but this picture gives you an idea of the size of it.

2009-08-02_19-21-54

On the way out we saw a couple of mule deer. It was our best deer encounter (other than chipmunks and ground squirrels) the entire time, BUT… I had been playing with shutter speeds with the water and forgot to change the settings, so none of the deer pictures turned out particularly well.

mule deer

mule deer

My World is a weekly meme in which participants are virtual tour guides. Go check it out and see the worlds of others. Or better yet, take a look at the guidelines, and do your own My World Post!

