In this post, I promised a brilliant sunset with the volcanoes being the foreground subject.

Last Friday night (the day after the “Everything is Pink” sunrise), I knew we were going to have a wonderful sunset. Why? Well, actually most sunsets here are wonderful. But I actually knew it was going to be spectacular because Friday morning we had a near repeat of the “Everything is Pink” sky, and the night before, the sunset was fabulous. (While I was driving across town to stamp–without camera because I was late.) So I decided to drive somewhere to watch it. Chic wanted to go (I love this about my children), so we went to a place with a view of the volcanoes.

click photo to enlarge

click photo to enlarge

We were not disappointed. Chic spent the next 45 minutes mostly racing around in the open desert, but not missing the magnificent display of nature. I mostly sat in my warm car with the window down to get pictures.

It was difficult to decide what picture to use; I was shooting for 45 minutes. In the end I picked two that are from close to the same time–just different views. I try to not put up too much stuff on SkyWatch Friday because there are so many to visit, but I just had to do two. There are lots more from this shoot that are “worthy,” so you may see some eventually when we have more of our “same skies every day.”

click photo to enlarge

click photo to enlarge

Whenever I post photos of my brilliant skies, I get questions about editing my photos. First, I rarely edit anything other than cropping and resizing. But what little editing capabilities I have with my software absolultely do NOT enhance sunrises and sunsets; these are all straight from the camera. Happy SkyWatch!

To see LOTS more terrific sky pictures or to find out how to participate in this meme, head to the SkyWatch blog.